Post-Treatment > Post-Treatment

Work and how we do what we do...

(1/3) > >>

Gennysmom:
Another thread made me start thinking that we haven't really centralized comments on us ANers back in the workforce and how we're coping with it.  I am a paralegal, so I spend a lot of my day on the computer, answering calls and pulling files from a floor to ceiling file system.  I went back to work 1/2 time at 8 weeks, and full time at 10 weeks.  I'm now 6 months out, and I still have to take it really slow when looking for files at floor level and navigating around the office trying not to lurch.  I think the single hardest struggle for me has been that I was a high output employee before surgery, and feel like I need to continue living up to that expectation, and some days I just can't.  I work in an office where there's a lot of "pretend" teamwork, but really there's a lot of talking behind other's backs, and it's much more stressful on me post-surgery.  I haven't quite figured out yet how to not let it bother me, other than frequent coffee breaks with my boyfriend to decompress.  How is everyone else coping at work post surgery?  Any tips, strategies, and stories would be greatly appreciated! 

I do have to finish this up by saying I am grateful every day that I can work.  I feel so much for those of you who struggle to or can't. 

Hugs!

Kathleen

Jeanlea:
Kathleen,