General Category > AN Issues

Thanks and new question

(1/4) > >>

Gabbie:
Hi, This is my first time as a registered user of this site, but last May when I was newly diagnosed with a 3cm AN (after a missed diagnoses three years ago) I was a frequent visitor to this site and wanted to put out a great big thanks for all of the positive stuff you folks post on this chat board. I had been to another site where there were a few people writing all of their 'war' stories and it sounded horrible. I am proud to say that my 14hr surgery in July went well and I was back to work in 6weeks. I still have a few balance issues (especially in the dark) and it will be an adventure when I get to the beach this summer, but overall I would say my recovery has been quite remarkable. This sort of leads into my question...I was wondering if anyone has had difficulties with short term memory and word searching (other than normal ageing stuff I am 38yrs old.)? I will be visiting this site more often now that the hardest times are past.

ppearl214:
Hi Gabbie and welcome :) I look forward to your further participation here and even though the reason stinks that we all have to be here, I am glad we are here! :)

RE: your question..... there have been many threads on this site (as well as the Cyberknife Patient Support board) with many of us noting short term memory loss and other cognitive issues.  Dr's (from what I have read thus far) don't seem to see the correlation between the cognitive issues for AN patients but many patients are reporting it (myself included..... I just claim that when I forget a birthday, I have a dr's note for short term memory loss :) ).

If you take a little time and check some of the forums here, you will see some of the threads recently noting these issues.  I know others will chime in here as well as many of us do share the same situation as you.

Again, welcome.
Phyl

Jim Scott:
Hi Gabbie: