General Category > AN Issues

Side Effects From Surgery

(1/3) > >>

letranger:
I am scheduled to have surgery (middle fossa) to remove my acoustic neuroma in July.  I am an attorney and, although I think I have a great surgeon, I'm concerned about how the operation my affect my ability to work.  In particular, I'm very worried about cognitive difficulties that my result from the surgery and about the headaches that others who've had the operation speak about so frequently.  Does anyone have any opinions or advice?  For example, would cognitive difficulties and headaches be less likely using the translabyrinthine approach instead of the middle fossa?  How soon can I expect to be back to work at 100 percent capacity?  Thanks very much for any help you can provide. 

Mark:
Letranger,

you don't mention the size of your AN , but can I inquire as to why your not also considering radiosurgery which typically has less post treatment deficits than surgery?

Mark

letranger:
Mark,

Thanks for your response.  As to the size of my AN: from what I'm told, it's still fairly small: 0.6 x 0.9 x 0.5 cm. 

As for why I'm not considering radiosurgery: I discussed the option with my neurotologist.  He explained the procedure to me but ultimately recommended against it.  He said that I'm relatively young (late 30s) and that going the radiosurgery route would mean multiple treatments and continuous monitoring over a period of many years.  He also mentioned the possibility (admittedly remote) that radiosurgery might make the tumor malignant.  I realize that each approach has its supporters and that there is conflicting evidence.  My doctor has an excellent reputation, however, and in the end, his advice seems reasonable to me. 

macintosh:
Dear Stranger--

I would suggest that you go to the site pubmed.gov, and use <acoustic neuroma microsurgery> and <acoustic neuroma radiosurgery> as search terms. Another very useful site is www.acousticneuroma.neurosurgery.pitt.edu.

Best,

Mac