General Category > AN Issues

new as AN patient

(1/4) > >>

MichelleN:
Like i said, I am new to this. I was just diagnosed in February and I am scheduled for surgery in April. I will be having my surgery at the University of Pennsylvania Hosp. I am confident with my doctors as they do these often. The difference is my head and my side affects.I am very concerned about the side affects of the surgery. I know I will lose all my hearing in the right ear, but I am concerned with facial paralysis and eye difficulties. I would like to hear some positive feedback since all I have been able to read is negative. SOME HELP PEASE.

Palace:
Hello:

I have read of successful surgeries but, what was the story on you?  Can you not consider the CK?  (or something else)  How big is that tumor, again?

You'll get there.  The deciding and waiting is sometimes the hardest part.

Palace

jtd71465:
I had surgery on January 10th this year.  I took no complications...face is fine...tumor was totally removed...I just have decreased hearing on my right side.  My surgery was only 3.5 hours long...I had it done at NYU Medical Center, if placed in the same situation I would not do anything differently.

I'm at 80-90% and getting better each day.

Stay positive, I also had the same issue prior to surgery...it seemed like everything I was reading was negative.

Joe-

rebarman:
Welcome to our "club" Nobody wants to be here, but you will find that the people here are friendly, knowledgeable, and always willing to lend support, information, or just a shoulder when you need to vent. I haven't been here that long, but I know without a doubt, that the information I received from the posters on this board before and after surgery made the whole process much, much easier.

Let me start by saying everyone one here is different, and their recovery/post-op experiences are just as different.