Author Topic: Recovery  (Read 3038 times)

Chances3

Recovery
« on: February 16, 2011, 07:26:40 am »
I had my AN removed 4 months ago.  I have the following symptoms, is this normal?
I have a disconnect to the world around me - kind of like not being in the environment.
Any movement of my head results in my entire visual world shaking.  To best describe,
it's like you take a video camera and shake it while you are filming, then go watch it on your TV.
It's really bad when I walk or in a car.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 07:36:21 am by Chances3 »

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: Recovery
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 08:47:12 am »
Hi Chances3 and welcome to this forum .....

I am not a medical doctor, but what you are describing sounds like nystagmus.  See:  http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/nystagmus  If this is a new thing, I would certainly tell your doctor about it.  I have had intermittent nystagmus for many years.  It is frustrating and disorienting.  Sometimes the cause is elusive, making proper treatment sometimes difficult to find.

Tell us a little bit more about your AN and other symptoms.

Clarice
Right MVD for trigeminal neuralgia, 1994, Pittsburgh, PA
Left retrosigmoid 2.6 cm AN removal, February, 2008, Duke U
Tumor regrew to 1.3 cm in February, 2011
Translab AN removal, May, 2011 at HEI, Friedman & Schwartz
Oticon Ponto Pro abutment implant at same time; processor added August, 2011

HeadCase2

• Carpe Grog
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 10:15:36 am »
Hello Chance3,