Author Topic: Surgery This Wednesday  (Read 6794 times)

Joanne7151

Surgery This Wednesday
« on: January 19, 2010, 01:24:16 am »
Wednesday's the Big Day - Surgery! I'm terrified!

I'm a newbie!  My AN was diagnosed in July 2009. My symptoms began in the spring, balance issues, headaches, hearing loss. MRI showed AN measured 0.4 x 0.5 x 1.1cm within the right auditory canal. August 6th I had the Gamma Knife procedure. First 2 weeks after surgery, I lost balance, and felt like there was a mini construction company in my right ear. Felt pretty much okay thru most of September. In October symptoms began again and got worse. Oct. 14 MRI showed some growth, but they weren't sure if it was swelling or growth. December 1 MRI showed significant growth. I am now scheduled for surgery January 20 at NYU medical center. The surgery will be Posterior Fossa Craniotomy (Translab), resection of intradural tumor with abdominal fat graft & facial nerve monitoring/microdisecction.

Needless to say I am TERRIFIED. Just the thought of my head being opened is freaking me out. Can anyone tell me what I may experience right after surgery. I know everyone reacts differently. Is it nausea, vomiting, pain, total loss of equilibrium, etc. I appreciate any input you can give me.
Joanne

stevecms

Re: Surgery This Wednesday
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2010, 07:12:46 am »
Hi joanne,best of luck for wednesday.i had a 4cm an removed by translab back in sept.luckily not too many problems ie double vision for about 2 days,i was sick once but the docs soon stop that with drugs.my balance was wonky for about 2 weeks,and not sleeping too good.things do get better lol :)
4 cm acc neuroma 99.9% removed queen elizabeth hospital 6 sept 09 by dr walsh.thought it was trigeminal neuralga,lots of facial pain for 18mths,now deaf on rh side little taste and ear pressure.13 hour surgery.

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2010, 08:21:48 am »
JoAnne -