Author Topic: Questions for Educators  (Read 5286 times)

raj_06

Questions for Educators
« on: April 16, 2010, 08:03:28 am »
Hi there,

Now that I have decided to go for my PhD, I would like to ask teachers or professors here in forum about how they deal with their SSD in classroom. The part I am little worried about is my lack of sense of direction of sound source. Is there specific techniqes that you folks apply to deal with this hearing deficiency? Also, if anyone of you wear baha or some other aid, does that device help in the classroom?

Regards,
Raj
"After all these ordeals, I still say all is well":)

mk

Re: Questions for Educators
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2010, 08:21:25 pm »
Hi Raj,

I am not SSD (at least not yet), but I have some experience of what it feels like, since I have undergone three episodes of complete hearing loss, during which I had to teach (I guess something like a general rehearsal of what SSD might feel like). What I find very hard to deal with is when my hearing is distorted (which happens from time to time). This is amplified in large classrooms (say of 150 people capacity), with many (and sometimes loud) students and the feeling is very unsettling. When the classroom is quiet though, it is much better. And since students will raise their hands when wanting to ask a question, directionality shouldn't be a big problem. Also, I didn't find hearing the students when they ask questions to be a big problem, provided that I had my good ear towards them. Sometimes I will approach them, or ask them to speak up. I am sure that others will chime in on the BAHA or other suitable hearing aids. I am not sure if this helps at all - overall I think that being SSD might be less of a problem in orderly University classrooms, rather than at an elementary school (or worse, Kindergarten).

Marianna