Author Topic: Char's update from surgery last Monday  (Read 2792 times)

char1957

Char's update from surgery last Monday
« on: February 15, 2010, 09:01:45 am »
Hi all,
  Just wanted to let you know that I made it through surgery last Monday.  The AN was a little larger and trickier than expected, but they got it!  Yeah!  They did have to remove the vestibular nerve, so I am trying very hard to get used to that.  Am still feeling very wonky headed and dizzy, but I keep praying that will come back in time.  How long before these horrible headaches go away?

Thank you all for your words of wisdom thru my pre-op and mostly for your prayers.  This is my first time on the computer since surgery, hope I am making sense.  I am sure I will be back soon with more questions and thoughts.

Char
2.5 AN right side, diagnosed 12/12/09
Retrosigmoid Surgery 2/8/10
Encompassed 4th-8th Cranial Nerves
Lost hearing and balance w/other deficits
3rd year MRI no regrowth on AN, but found 10mm Menengioma right frontal lobe

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Char's update from surgery last Monday
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 09:16:47 am »
Char -

congratulations on your postie status!

The majority of us who had surgery lost our vestibular nerve.  Things will get better over time as your body learns to compensate.

I don't know the answer to your headache question; luckily I didn't have them post op.

Get lots of rest and don't overdo it.  You'll be surprised how long the fatigue lasts.

Best,

Jan
Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)
Left AN 3.0 cm (1.5 cm @ diagnosis 6 wks prior) SSD. BAHA implant 3/4/08 (Dr. Battista) Divino 6/4/08  BP100 4/2010 BAHA 5 8/2015

I don't actually "make" trouble..just kind of attract it, fine tune it, and apply it in new and exciting ways

sues1953

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 09:23:31 am »
Hi Char!